The longstanding sketch show has drafted in the Irish legend to host one of next month's shows.

'Saturday Night Live' returns this October and it's got a whopping line-up for its first three show. Our very own Brendan Gleeson will host the second episode of 48th season of 'SNL', which will be back as the spooky season begins to kick into gear.

The season will kick off with 'Whiplash' star Miles Teller and musical guest Kendrick Leman on October 1; next is Gleeson with musical guest Willow on October 8; followed by Megan Thee Stallion as both host and musical guest on October 15.

Brendan Gleeson will be hosting 'SNL' as he begins the promotional circuit for his forthcoming film with Colin Farrell, 'The Banshees of Inisheerin'. Dare we jinx it and speculate that his co-star might make a special appearance during the episode? Or, hey, maybe his sons Domhnall or Brian might pop in for a look?

This might be Gleeson's very first time hosting the famous comedy show but we all know how well-versed he is in delivering the laughs on screen and stage. From 'The Guard' to 'Paddingon 2', 'In Bruges' to 'Into the West' and 'Harry Potter', he's a national treasure that knows how to deliver a punchline or several.

Gleeson's turn on 'SNL' sees him join the list of other Irish stars who have walked the floors of Studio 8H at 30 Rockefeller Plaza in New York City, including Saoirse Ronan, Gabriel Byrne, Liam Neeson and of course Colin Farrell.

His 'Saturday Night live' appearance will see his host a couple of weeks before 'Banshees' hits cinemas on October 21. The Martin McDonagh project recently received a 13-minute standing ovation at Venice Film Festival, with Variety reporting that the love for the film was so intense that it delayed the red carpet debut of Olivia Wilde’s 'Don’t Worry Darling'.

This new season of 'SNL' will see a huge change in the regular cast members of the show. The recent Emmy-winning show will no longer feature the likes of big comedy players such as Kate McKinnon, Aidy Bryant, Chris Redd, Kyle Mooney, Pete Davidson, Alex Moffat or Melissa Villaseñor. Four new cast members - Marcello Hernandez, Molly Kearney, Michael Longfellow and Devon Walker - will make their debuts this season.