The Irish singer-songwriter has announced details about his upcoming album.

'Grapefruit Season' will be the title of James Vincent McMorrow's fifth studio album, set to be released this July via Columbia Records.

His haunting new single 'Waiting' has also been released today as well, which is the follow-up to his 2020 track 'Gone'.

'Grapefruit Season' will be made up of 14 tracks, and the album was recorded between London, Los Angeles and Dublin largely before the pandemic struck. The album aims to embrace the fact that life is chaos and the idea of growing up but feeling none the wiser.

The folky/alternative musician posted on his Instagram earlier this week the story of how this new album came to be.

Uploading a video of himself serenading us with 'Waiting', he told fans that he thought he album was finished last year, until everything changed. He wrote: "About a year ago I thought I had this album finished. I got back to Ireland from LA just before the world stopped, everything mixed, mastered, sitting in a folder. Then I sat and waited like everyone else because there were more important things to deal with. About 2 months later I picked up the guitar and did something I haven’t done in years, sit and write a song.

"I wasn’t done with the album, there was a lot more to be done. So I went back to work, I changed songs, added more, took some away. And then it was finally done, it was everything I needed it to be. That song was called Waiting, it comes out at the end of this week, and is going to be the start of a journey over the next couple of months that will lead to that album."

James Vincent McMorrow will be touring with his new album early in 2022. There are four Irish dates, from April 19 to April 22, including two nights at Dublin's Olympia, followed by Belfast and finally Limerick.

Here's the video for his new single, 'Waiting', which released today.

'Grapefruit Season' will be released on July 16.