It's been three years since we last heard any new Villagers material, but now Conor O'Brien has announced his long-awaited fourth album.

The Dubliner will release 'The Art of Pretending to Swim' on September 21st via Domino Records - and by all accounts, it's a return to the 'multi-faceted' sound of 'Becoming a Jackal' and '{Awayland}', after 'Darling Arithmetic's comparatively pared-back sound.

O'Brien wrote, produced, mixed and played most of the instruments on the album in his Dublin studio, and you can see the rather fetching artwork and tracklist below:


1. Again

2. A Trick Of The Light

3. Sweet Saviour

4. Long Time Waiting

5. Fool

6. Love Came With All That It Brings

7. Real Go-Getter

8. Hold Me Down

9. Ada

Hear its first single 'A Trick of the Light' below: