The nominees for this year's Mercury Prize - which celebrates the best UK and Irish album of the year - have been announced.

The shortlist of twelve albums was announced by Lauren Laverne on her BBC 6 Music radio show this morning.

Albums released between September 9, 2014 and September 25, 2015 are eligible. Last year, Scottish trio Young Fathers took the award for their album 'Dead'.

The winner will be announced at a ceremony in London on November 20th, and the albums that will be tussling for this year's Prize are:

Aphex Twin - 'Syro'

Wolf Alice - 'My Love is Cool'

Roisin Murphy - 'Hairless Toys'

C Duncan - 'Architect'

Eska - 'Eska'

Florence and the Machine - 'How Big, How Blue, How Beautiful'

Ghostpoet - 'Shedding Skin'

Benjamin Clementine - 'At Least for Now'

Jamie xx - 'In Colour'

SOAK - 'Before We Forgot How to Dream'

Gaz Coombes - 'Matador'

Slaves - 'Are You Satisfied?'