Yesterday the news broke that broadcasting legend and national treasure Gay Byrne had sadly passed away. Tributes have been pouring in for Byrne ever since and tonight, in honour of the first and longest-serving presenter of 'The Late Late Show', there will be a special edition of the show.

In what will no doubt serve as the closest thing to a nation-wide wake for the iconic presenter, Ryan Tubridy will be joined by a whole range of famous faces who will pay tribute to Gay.

The lineup has been announced by RTÉ and will include President Michael D Higgins, former President Mary McAleese, Bob Geldof, Pat Kenny, Joe Duffy, Mike Murphy, Andrea Corr, Sharon Shannon, John Sheahan, Finbar Furey, Nell McCafferty, John McColgan, Tommy Tiernan, Pat Shortt, Jon Kenny, Rosaleen Linehan, Eamon Dunphy, Twink, Fr Brian D'arcy, Paddy Maloney, Donal Lunny, Michael Carruth, Moya Doherty, RTÉ Director-General Dee Forbes, Vincent Browne, Mary Black, Frank McNamara and Aonghus McAnally.

This special edition of 'The Late Late Show' will kick off at 9.35pm tonight on RTÉ One.

*RTÉ has also announced their coverage for the funeral of Gay Byrne.