This year's Dancing With The Stars winners have been announced as Jake Carter and Karen Byrne.

Squaring off against Deirdre O'Kane and Anna Geary, Carter won out in the end - despite the fact that Geary was the bookie's favourite to win as of Friday with 2 / 5 odds. Norah Casey was the first to be voted off the show, with Tomas O'Leary and Maia Dunphy following her in the following weeks.

Erin McGregor lost out in the semi-final by only a whisker, but it was country music singer Jake Carter who eventually topped the public vote and went home with the Glitterball.

Here's the moment Carter won.

Following the season finale, RTE confirmed in a tweet that the series will return for another year - so start the speculation now as to who's going to be on it. Could next year be the year we finally see Amy Huberman on the stage?


Via Twitter