The National Television Awards took place in London last night where the whose who of UK television were decked out in their Sunday best to see who would be going home with one of the coveted gongs.

There was some speculation whether Ant and Dec would manage to scoop the Best TV Presenter award for the 18th time in a row. This was of course because Ant McPartlin had to step down from presenting duties for most of the year to deal with his addiction problems following a drink-driving accident. However, there's just no stopping that pair and they managed to win the award yet again.

Ant and Dec weren't at the awards as they were busy on presenting duties over at 'Britain's Got Talent' auditions. However they heard the announcement live and were visibly emotional to find out they won. Ant did all the talking as Dec, tearing up, looked on.

"Thank you, this is a genuine shock, especially this year - I'm shaking," Ant said.

"I really don't feel like I can accept this award this year - it has to go to this guy [pointing to Dec] for his hard work, dedication, wit and funniness and for being the best mate out there - I love you, man."

Dec also thanked voters, saying: "Thank you to everybody for their kind and thoughtful messages, they've kept us going over the last year - this year probably more than ever."

Watch below:


Here's the rest of the winners from last night's show:

Best Factual Entertainment

DIY SOS: The Big Build
WINNER: Paul O’Grady: For the Love of Dogs
The Great British Bake Off


Best New Drama

A Discovery of Witches
WINNER: Bodyguard
Killing Eve
The Cry


Best Daytime

Good Morning Britain
Loose Women
Sunday Brunch
The Jeremy Kyle Show
WINNER: This Morning


Best Newcomer

Aedan Duckworth – Oliver Morgan, Hollyoaks
Alexandra Mardell – Emma Brooker, Coronation Street
WINNER: James Moore – Ryan Stocks, Emmerdale
Newt Mohan – Dr Rashid “Rash” Masum, Casualty
Ricky Champ – Stuart Highway, EastEnders


Best TV Judge

WINNER: David Walliams
Louis Tomlinson
Robbie Williams
Robert Rinder
Simon Cowell


Best Comedy

Jack Whitehall: Travels with my Father
Mrs Brown’s Boys
WINNER: Peter Kay’s Car Share
The Big Bang Theory


Best Drama Performance

Cillian Murphy – Thomas Shelby, Peaky Blinders
Jodie Comer – Villanelle, Killing Eve
Jodie Whittaker – The Doctor, Doctor Who
Michelle Keegan – L Cpl Georgia Lane, Our Girl
WINNER: Richard Madden – Sgt David Budd, Bodyguard


Best Quiz Show

8 Out of 10 Cats Does Countdown
A League of Their Own
WINNER: The Chase


The Bruce Forsyth Entertainment Award

All Round to Mrs Brown’s
Ant & Dec’s Saturday Night Takeaway
WINNER: I’m A Celebrity… Get Me Out of Here!
Love Island
The Graham Norton Show


Best Serial Drama Performance

Bonnie Langford – Carmel Kazemi, EastEnders
WINNER: Danny Dyer – Mick Carter, EastEnders
Emma Atkins – Charity Dingle, Emmerdale
Jack P Shepherd – David Platt, Coronation Street
Lucy Pargeter – Chas Dingle, Emmerdale


Special Recognition Award

David Dimbleby


Best Drama

Call The Midwife
Doctor Who
Our Girl
WINNER: Peaky Blinders


Best TV Presenter

WINNER: Ant & Dec
Bradley Walsh
Graham Norton
Holly Willoughby
Phillip Schofield


Best Talent Show

Britain’s Got Talent
Dancing on Ice
WINNER: Strictly Come Dancing
The Voice UK
The X Factor


Best Serial Drama

Coronation Street
WINNER: Emmerdale