New and more seasoned artists took to the stage of the VMAs last night, with a number of stand-out performances for music fans.

The MTV VMAs roared into action last night from the Barclays Center in Brooklyn, New York. Honouring the best music from the past year by dishing out Moon Person-shaped awards, there were countless performers who also took to the stage to deliver some memorable appearances.

Winners on the night included Lil Nas X, Foo Fighters, Olivia Rodrigo, Justin Bieber, Doja Cat, Travis Scott, Machine Gun Kelly, BTS and Billie Eilish. The full list of winners can be found here.

One of the best performances on the night was from the receivers of the Global Icon Award - The Foo Fighters. The band rocked a trio of their hits, 'Learn to Fly', 'Shame Shame' and 'Everlong'. Drummer Taylor Hawkins paid tribute to late Rolling Stones legend Charlie Watts on his drum kit.

Olivia Rodrigo walked home with three VMAs on the night, winning Song of the Year, Push Performance of the Year for 'Driver's Licence', and Best New Artist. She also took to the stage to perform a song from her debut album, 'good 4 u'.

Meanwhile, Shawn Mendes and Tainy got pulses racing with their live performance of 'Summer of Love'.

Justin Bieber walked away with the VMAs Artist of the Year Award, as well as Best Pop track for 'Peaches'. He performed 'Stay' and 'Ghost' featuring The Kid LAROI.

Country star Kacey Musgraves made her VMA debut with a stripped-back version of her track 'Star Crossed'.

Ed Sheeran is back on the scene ahead of his upcoming album release, and the UK star performed two new singles, 'Shivers' and 'Bad Habits'.

Doja Cat, who was the host of the VMAs this year, performed 'Been Like This' and 'You Right' from dizzying heights. On the night she picked up Best Collaboration alongside SZA for their mega hit 'Kiss Me More'.

Making her first VMAs appearance since 2012, Alicia Keys lit up the stage live from Liberty State Park in a gold and glittery number, performing that track she always pulls out of the bag - 'Empire State of Mind'. She also joined Swae Lee to perform 'LaLa'.

Finally, the winner of Best Video of the Year for 'MONTERO (Call Me By Your Name)', Lil Nas X, took to the stage to perform the track, along with his newest single 'Industry Baby' featuring Jack Harlow. The rapper's upcoming album releases this Friday.

For a full rundown of the VMA performances this year, visit here.