After switching over to Matador records last year, Sonic Youth have announced their first album in three years. The follow up to 2006's Rather Ripped will be called The Eternal and is due for release on June 9th.

The Eternal will boast several firsts for Sonic Youth, as it will be the first time that Thurston Moore, Kim Gordon, and Lee Ranaldo have shared vocal duties. It's also the first album to feature former Pavement bassist Mark Ibold as a full time member of the group. Producer John Agnello returns to co-produce after his work on Rather Ripped.

The tracklisting for The Eternal will be as follows:

1  Sacred Trickster
2  Anti-Orgasm
3  Leaky Lifeboat (for Gregory Corso)
4  Antenna
5  What We Know
6  Calming The Snake
7  Poison Arrow
8  Malibu Gas Station
9  Thunderclap For Bobby Pyn
10 No Way
11 Walkin Blue
12 Massage The History