It's always hard to call the winner of the Choice Music Prize and last night's ceremony proved similarly thus with a relatively unknown act beating some of the bigger names on the shortlist.

Dublin electro-pop duo Ships bagged the main prize for Irish Album of the Year 2017 for their independently-released record 'Precession', beating James Vincent McMorrow, Lankum and Fionn Regan in the process.

The pair, Sorca McGrath and Simon Cullen, revealed that they recorded the album in a bedroom in their house - but nevetherless walked away with a cheque for €10,000 and a nice piece of glassware for their mantelpiece.

Earlier in the night, the award for Irish Song of the Year 2017 had been awarded to Tullamore trio Chasing Abbey, following a public vote. The up-and-coming group performed the winning track, 'That Good Thing', live - seeing off the likes of Niall Horan and The Script to bag their first major award.

Highlights from the ceremony will be broadcast on RTE2 on Sunday, March 18th at 11pm.

Hear the winning album and song below: