Apparently, MTV don't think they have enough award ceremonies in the musical calendar and have added another one to the list for 2011. The brand new MTV O Music Awards (technically the "O" doesn't stand for anything specific, but does celebrate all things "online") have been created to “honor the migration of music to the digital space, and celebrate the art, artistry and technology of digital music", according to a representative from the network.

Nominations have already been announced, with Lady Gaga leading the charge alongside Odd Future and Tyler, The Creator, with three nods each. The controversial 'Born This Way' singer is up for Most Innovative Artist and Must-Follow Artist on Twitter, while Nicki Minaj, Kanye West and Justin Bieber have also been nominated in categories including Fan Army and Innovative Music Video.

MTV's Dermot McCormack said, "The advent of the digital space has forever changed the way we discover, experience and enjoy music, resulting in an unparalleled fusion of fan interaction and creativity around the artists they love".

"With the conversation at a fever pitch, the time has come to celebrate and award achievements and innovations in this space with an experimental, ever evolving, unorthodox and forward facing event that only MTV Music Group can pull off".

The MTV OMAs will take place across multiple online platforms on April 28th, including, and