The Meteor Music Ireland Awards 2010 were launched yesterday at La Stampa hotel on Dawson St, announcing the nominations for this year's awards, on this, their tenth anniversary. Some of our best local celebrities turned up for the event (see pictures of The Script, The Coronas and more at the launch in Caught Out), while host Amanda Byram flew in all the way from Sydney.

Don't worry, we won't keep you in suspense much longer. The nominations for the fourteen voting and non voting categories can be seen below. The fifteenth category is the brand new "The Most Promising New Artist For 2010" award, for which Meteor are still calling unsigned bands. For more details on the award, prize and how to enter, click here

Here are the nominations for the 2010 Meteor Awards. Our picks are highlighted in Italics.


Best Radio DJ – National
Ian Dempsey – Today FM
Damien Farrelly – 2FM
Tony Fenton – Today FM
Ray Foley – Today FM
Larry Gogan – 2FM
Dan Hegarty – 2FM

Radio DJ – Regional
Leigh Doyle – BEAT
Jim & Niamh – FM 104
KC & Lenny – Red FM
Michelle McMahon – Spin SW
Jon Richards – Galway Bay FM
Shona Ryan – Spin 1038

Best Irish Band
Bell X1
The Coronas
Snow Patrol

Best Irish Male
Colin Devlin
Jerry Fish
Jack L
Christy Moore

Best Irish Female
Wallis Bird
Julie Feeney
Valerie Francis
Laura Izibor
Dolores O’ Riordan

Best Irish Pop Act
Laura Izibor
The Blizzards
The Script

Best Irish Pop Album
Blue Lights on the Runway – Bell X1
Tony was an Ex-Con – The Coronas
The Duckworth-Lewis Method – The Duckworth-Lewis Method
Up to Now – Snow Patrol
No Line On The Horizon – U2

Best Irish Live Performance
Bell X1
Christy Moore
The Script
Snow Patrol


Best Folk/Traditional
Kathleen Loughnane
Kila with Bruno Coulais
Christy Moore
Mairead Ni Mhaonaigh
Sharon Shannon

Best International Band
Black Eyed Peas
Florence & The Machine
Green Day

Best International Male
Michael Buble
Paolo Nutini
Bruce Springsteen

Best International Female
Lily Allen
Lady Ga Ga
Little Boots
Pixie Lotts
Taylor Swift

Best International Album
Lunatic Asylum – Kasabian
Lungs – Florence & The Machine
Sigh No More – Mumford & Sons
Sunny Side Up – Paolo Nutini
The Fame Monster – Lady Ga Ga

Best International Live
Leonard Cohen
Florence & The Machine
Bruce Springsteen
Take That

To cast your vote on the eight categories open to the public, or to find out more about "The Most Promising New Artist For 2010" Award, go to The Meteor Ireland Music Awards 2010 take place at the RDS on February 19th. Tickets priced €40 are now on sale from ticketmaster and usual outlets