The world has been waiting four years for a new Lorde record, but one is finally on the way.

Ella Yelich-O'Connor recently revealed the title of her third album - the follow-up to 2017's 'Melodrama' - on social media, but left fans hanging for any further info.

She also teased the title track, which you can hear below.

Now, she's finally revealed more details about 'Solar Power' - most notably its release date, which is August 20th.

The album was produced by Jack Antonoff, and is a "celebration of the natural world," according to a statement from the Kiwi musician.

"The album is a celebration of the natural world, an attempt at immortalizing the deep, transcendent feelings I have when I’m outdoors,” she said. “In times of heartache, grief, deep love, or confusion, I look to the natural world for answers. I’ve learned to breathe out, and tune in. This is what came through.”

Notably - and perhaps as a reflection of the times - the album will not be available on CD and will instead be released in a 'music box'-style format.

“I decided early on in the process of making this album that I also wanted to create an environmentally kind, forward-thinking alternative to the CD,” she said. “I wanted this Music Box product to be similar in size, shape and price to a CD, to live alongside it in a retail environment, but be something which stands apart and that’s committed to the evolving nature of a modern album."

The Music Box will include additional visual content, handwritten notes, exclusive photos and a download card.

She's also heading off on an extensive world tour in 2022, although no Irish date has been announced yet.

See the tracklist below:

01. The Path
02. Solar Power
03. California
04. Stoned in the Nail Salon
05. Fallen Fruit
06. Secrets from a Girl (Who’s Seen It All)
07. The Man with an Axe
08. Dominoes
09. Big Star
10. Leader of a New Regime
11. Mood Ring
12. Oceanic Feeling