The ten song shortlist for the Meteor Choice Irish Song of the Year has been announced. The songs were selected by a panel of industry folk, of which your writer was a part, and combined with radio airplay stats to come up with the top ten.

They are:

Daithí – Chameleon Life (Sony Music)
Hozier – Take Me To Church (Rubyworks)
I am The Cosmos – Look Me In The Eye (Self Released)
James Vincent McMorrow – Cavalier (Believe Recordings)
Kodaline – Brand New Day (Sony Music)
New Jackson – Sat Around Here Waiting (Hivern Discs)
The Original Rudeboys – Never Gonna Walk Away (Rubyworks)
The Strypes – You Can’t Judge a Book by the Cover (Universal)
Two Door Cinema Club – Changing of The Seasons (Parlophone/Warner Music)
Villagers – Nothing Arrived (Domino)

Unlike the prize for Best Album, this category is decided by public vote and you can do so over at Meteor's Facebook page or by texting 'SONG' to 085 711 4444 for a list of nominees.

The winner will be revealed, along with the Meteor Choice Music Prize for Best Irish Album, at the ceremony in Dublin's Vicar Street on February 27th. 

Have a listen to the nominees below (minus New Jackson - which you can listen to here).