George Harrison and The Bee Gees will be honored with a Lifetime Achievement Award by The Recording Academy, the organisation which is also responsible for the Grammys.

They are amongst a group of seven acts who will receive the Special Merit award in February. Buddy Guy, The Louvin Brothers, Flaco Jiménez, Pierre Boulez and Wayne Shorter will also be honored.

Harrison died in 2001, while country duo The Louvin Brothers will also receive their award posthumously. Barry Gibb is the only remaining Bee Gee alive.

The ceremony will take place at the Staples Center in Los Angeles on February 7th, the day before the Grammys.