Legendary guitarist Jeff Beck is to release his first studio album in seven years, featuring a selection of guest appearances including one from our very own local lass Imelda May.

Imelda sings on a track called 'Lilac Wine', while Kent pop singer Joss Stone and classically trained Olivia Safe also make vocal contributions to the album, entitled 'Emotion and Commotion'. Meanwhile, backing musicians include frequent collaborators Vinnie Colaiuta (drums), Jason Rebello (keyboards), and Tal Wilkenfeld (bass).

With award-winning producers Steve Lipson and Trevor Horn at the helm, Beck drafted in a 64 piece orchestra for a number of tracks, including the Puccini's aria 'Nessun Dorma', 'Elegy For Dunkirk' taken from the score of the film Atonement, Jeff Buckley's interpretation of 'Corpus Christi Carol' and the classic 'Somewhere Over The Rainbow'. Of his foray into classical music, Beck said, "It turned out amazingly well, but I didn’t want to commit to an entire album of classical music. What appealed to me instead was the idea of bringing together these seemingly contradictory sounds on different kinds of non classical music."

Emotion and Commotion is due for release on April 9th and the full track listing is as follows:

1. Corpus Christi Carol
2. Hammerhead
3. Never Alone
4. Somewhere Over The Rainbow
5. I Put A Spell On You (featuring Joss Stone)
6. Serene
7. Lilac Wine (featuring Imelda May)
8. Nessun Dorma
9. There's No Other Me (featuring Joss Stone)
10. Elegy For Dunkirk (featuring Olivia Safe)