The shortlist for the 12th Choice Music Prize for Irish Album of the Year 2016 has just been announced.

Ten of the best Irish albums, as chosen by a panel of 12 industry professionals, will go toe-to-toe at Vicar Street on Thursday, March 9th where a selection of them will perform live as the same panel debate who is most deserving of the award. Tickets for the event are on sale from usual outlets now.

This year also marks a new partnership for the Choice Music Prize, with RTÉ replacing Meteor as the sponsor. That means that the event will be broadcast live on 2FM on the night of March 9th from 7pm - 11pm, rather than on Today FM as in previous years. There will also be a televised broadcast of the event on RTE2 a week or so later.

Without further ado, the ten nominated albums are:

All Tvvins - 'IIVV'
Bantum - 'Move'
Wallis Bird - 'Home'
The Divine Comedy - 'Foreverland'
Lisa Hannigan - 'At Swim'
Katie Kim - 'Salt'
James Vincent McMorrow - 'We Move'
Overhead, the Albatross - 'Learning to Growl'
Rusangano Family - 'Let the Dead Bury the Dead'
We Cut Corners - 'The Cadences of Others'


The winning act will receive €10,000 via IMRO/IRMA and a specially commissioned award.

The shortlist for the Irish Song of the Year - awarded on the same night as the album prize - will follow on February 1st.