St. Patrick's Day is, once again, going to be somewhat different this year.

With no parade or in-person events taking place, our national day could well have been a bit of a damp squib - but the St. Patrick's Festival is going online for 2021 with a variety of events to keep us all cheered.

It'll take place from March 12th - 17th and this year's theme is Dúisigh Éire! Awaken Ireland!, which promises a "positive and uplifting celebration of our incredible people, our beautiful island, our community bonds, our young people, artists, creators and makers, and our diaspora across the world."

There will be a dedicated online TV channel for the festival at, with all events playable until March 21st.

Amongst the various genres and events, the music programme has a host of impressive names taking part under the 'Sounds' strand this year. It includes:

The Soundtrack to Ireland's Future - an eclectic lineup of 39 emerging artists from all corners of Ireland on stage at Lost Lane across St. Patrick’s Festival weekend. It will feature the likes of Anna Mieke, A. Smyth, Basciville and many more.

Pillow Queens, Gemma Dunleavy and spoken word artist Adam Mohammed live from the Guinness Storehouse;

Barróg Lá Féile Pádraig - a pre-recorded gig at Whelan's in Dublin that will feature Lisa O’Neill, Colm Mac Con Iomaire, Caoimhe Ní Fhlatharta, Seamus and Ronan Ó Flatharta, Diarmuid and Brian Mac Gloin, Cormac Begley, Ronan O’ Snodaigh and Myles O' Reilly, Doireann and Siún Glackin and Mohammad Syfkhan;

The Saint Patrick Show - A Musical & Visual Tale from Ancient to Modern Time - a "journey through the ages" told via music, dance and iconic imagery, featuring Fontaines DC's Grian Chatten, Matthew Campbell from the Shamrock Tenors, soprano Mary McCabe and others;

Seoda: Celtic Connections -  a celebration of traditional music and cultural connections through performances from leading artists across three locations. Ireland will be represented by The Breath  Ríognach Connolly and jazz guitarist Stuart McCallum; Scotland by award winning folk musician Bríghde Chaimbeul & violinist Aidan O’Rourke and Wales by Super Furry Animals frontman Gruff Rhys;

Gigs under the 'Transitions' banner from various locations around Ireland by New Jackson, Sorca McGrath, Simon Cullen, Polytunnel and Gareth Quinn Redmond;

Gigs by Moxie, Kila, The Hogan Duo and more.

The full programme can be seen at