Glasvegas have been crowned indie kings by UK indie radio station Xfm. Xfm announced the shortlist for their New Music Award several weeks ago pitting Glasvegas' self titled debut album against those of The Ting Tings, Foals and The Last Shadow Puppets.

The shortlist was chosen by public vote before a panel of industry expert chose the Glaswegian rockers as top of the pile. Among the judges were Carl Barat, New Order's Peter Hook and Snow Patrol's Gary Lightbody. Lightbody called the album "Dark as f**k but full of great lines" while MTV's Chris Pierce said "For what it says lyrically about social issues in modern Britain... This album will be seen as a time capsule for generations of future listeners."

The full shortlist was as follows:

The Courteeners - St Jude
Dan Le Sac Vs Scroobius Pip - Angles
Foals 'Antidotes'
Glasvegas - Glasvegas
Laura Marling - Alas, I Cannot Swim
The Last Shadow Puppets - The Age Of The Understatement
Noah & The Whale - Peaceful, The World Lays Me Down
One Night Only - Started A Fire
The Ting Tings - We Started Nothing
You Me At Six - Take Off Your Colours