Bjork has won Sweden's prestigious Polar Music Prize for 2010, alongside respected Italian composer Ennio Morricone. Morricone is responsible for some 400 film scores including classics The Good The Bad and The Ugly, The Untouchables and Cinema Paradiso.

The Polar Prize was founded in 1989 by former ABBA manager Stikkan Anderson, and is often referred to in Sweden as the 'Nobel Prize of music'. Every year, the prize is shared between a popular music artist and a classical composer. Last year's prize was split between Peter Gabriel and Venezuelan composer Jose Antonio Abreu.

The prize committee described Bjork as "an untameable force of nature, an artist who marches to nobody's tune but her own", and said that Morricone's "congenial compositions and arrangements lift our existence to another plain".

The prize includes 1 million Swedish kronor (€104,400) which will be presented to Bjork and Morricone at a ceremony in the Stockholm Concert hall on August 31st.