After a banner reading 'Arcade Fire presents The Suburbs' appeared briefly on the band's website before disappearing again, speculation rose that 'The Suburbs' might be the name of the Canadian indie giants forthcoming album. That speculation has now been confirmed. 

Arcade Fire are set to release 'The Suburbs' in Ireland on July 30th. The album is the band's third full length release, the follow up to 2007's 'Neon Bible', and was arranged and recorded over the past two years in Montreal and New York with producer Markus Dravs (Coldplay, James and Bjork).

The first single to be taken from the album is a double A-side featuring the songs 'The Suburbs' and 'Month of May'. It was released today on 12" vinyl.

Arcade Fire will perform music from the album live for Irish fans for the first time at Oxegen 2010.