Modest Mouse are to release an eight track EP compiling a number of their recent singles. Six of the eight tracks were released during the last few months as limited edition 7" vinyl singles, while the EP also includes the B-side to hit single 'Float On', entitled 'I've Got It All (Most)' and the 2007 single 'King Rat', the video for which was directed by the late Heath Ledger. 'No One's First, And You're Next' is due for release in the states on August 4th. The artwork is to the left and the tracklist below:
Satellite Skin
Guilty Cocker Spaniels
Autumn Beds
The Whale Song
Perpetual Motion Machine
History Sticks To Your Feet
King Rat
I've Got It All (Most)

After taking to covering MGMT and Lady GaGa in their live shows, Weezer have revealed that they are nearly finished a new album. In a post on their website, the LA rockers revealed that they had been in the studio working on their 7th studio album, as well as 'some other special weezer studio recordings'. The title of the album has still to be confirmed but the band also revealed that a single from it is on the way, as well as a 'special non-physical release', a deluxe reissue of their fantastic 2001 album 'Pinkerton', and their APE online radio station.

Brooklyn rockers A Place To Bury Strangers are to make their major label debut later this year with 'Exploding Head'. Their second album over all, it follows their self titled debut from 2007, and according to the band sprang from an idea 'to create the craziest, most fucked-up recording ever.' 'Exploding Head' is due for release via Mute records on October 6th. The band have also announced a European tour, though so far there is no Irish gig on their schedule.

Berkeley indie/hip hop band Why? are to follow up last year's 'Alopecia' with a new album, entitled 'Eskimo Snow'. Main man Yoni Wolf told that 'The Eskimo Snow songs are a bit more wild...The sound is more open, more live...Eskimo Snow is really the least hip-hop out of anything I've ever been involved with.' The album was recorded in Minneapolis, and pre-mixed by Lambchop's Mark Nevers in Nashville. Eskimo Snow is due for release on Anticon on September 22nd.