Liam Gallagher claims that his new band will have their album out by July. The as yet untitled band featuring former Oasis members Andy Bell and Gem Archer already have eight new songs, and plan to go into the studio to record them soon. Liam told Xfm, " A lot of these songs I wrote before the band [Oasis] split up ... I mean, there's a few new ones on there that are coming out now ... We're going in [the studio] in April with a producer, we're going to do three songs with him and if he doesn't balls it up and we don't balls it up then we'll go in and do the whole album with him." Meanwhile, brother Noel has announced his first solo gigs since the Oasis split, at London's Royal Albert Hall as part of a series of concerts in aid of the Teenage Cancer Trust.

Brookyln indie rockers The National are hoping to release their upcoming third?? Album this coming may. Frontman Matt Berninger told "We're scheduled to master it in three weeks. I'd say it's 75 percent done. But with us, the songs often change drastically in the last couple of weeks, in the mixing. We know what songs we're trying to finish, but what exactly the songs are going to end up like is still a mystery ... I don't think it sounds anything like Alligator, but it's less restrained than Boxer, that's for sure. I don't quite scream my head off in the way I did with "Mr. November", but I do think it's cathartic. ... I also think this record moves faster. I think it's going to be a longer record than Boxer, but hopefully it's going to feel shorter. The songs have much more momentum, somehow. It's less stately, a little more... Catchy is not quite the word, but I think this record will be fun to drive to." Song set for inclusion on the record include Love Buzz, Ohio, Romantic Comedy, L.A. Cathedral, Quiet Company and Runaway.

Canadian collective Broken Social Scene have revealed details of a new album. As well as including appearances from BSS regulars Leslie Feist, Stars' Amy Millan and Evan Cranley, Metric's Emily Haines and Jimmy Shaw, among others, this time there'll also be contributions from Tortoise's John McEntire, Pavement's Spiral Stairs, and former Death From Above 1979 man Sebastien Grainger. The yet to be titled album is set for release on April 30th.

New York experimental rockers Battles are to follow up their critically lauded 2007 debut 'Mirrors' this year. The band have not revealed details of the album but have begun working on new material and are set to go into the studio and start recording proper sessions any day now. Guitarist Dave Konopka told "Where we are is really seedy ... It reminds me of old school Midnight Cowboy-era New York. Most of that area has been Bloomberged into consumerism, ESPN zones and Broadway shows, but on the outskirts there's little pockets of vice. We're playing right above a jack shop."

Animal Collective's Noah Lennox, better known as Panda Bear, has revealed details of his upcoming solo album. The follow up to 2007's highly acclaimed 'Person Pitch' is to be called 'Tomboy' and is tentatively set for release in September.

Pavement have revealed the tracklist for their forthcoming Best Of compilation 'Quarantine The Past', due for release on March 5th. It can be seen below:
'Gold Soundz'
'Mellow Jazz Docent'
'In The Mouth A Desert'
'Two States'
'Cut Your Hair'
'Shady Lane'/'J vs. S'
'Summer Babe (Winter Version)'
'Range Life'
'Date With IKEA'
'Debris Slide'
'Shoot The Singer (1 Sick Verse)'
'Spit On A Stranger'
'Heaven Is A Truck'
'Trigger Cut'/'Wounded-Kite At :17'
'Embassy Row'
'Box Elder'
'Unseen Power Of The Picket Fence'
'Fight This Generation'

Meanwhile, Pixies frontman Frank Black will release a new album entitled 'NonStopErotik' under his Black Francis monker on April 2nd, Caribou is set to release a new album called 'Swim' on April 16th, and Joanna Newsom has revealed that her forthcoming 'Have One On Me' album will span a whopping three CDs!