U.S. boyband Backstreet Boys have announced that their new album, 'This Is Us', will be released on October 6th. The first single to be taken from the 11 track album will be 'Straight Through My Heart' which was released to radio stations earlier in the week. Meanwhile, Backstreet Boy AJ McLean says he will release a solo album by the end of the year.

Echo and the Bunnymen have revealed details of their forthcoming eleventh studio album. 'The Fountain' is thir first album since 2005's 'Siberia' and features a collaboration with Coldplay's Chris Martin on one track. 'Think I Need It Too' will be the lead single, released on September 28th, while the album itself is due for release on October 12th.

After revealing last year that they would soon reunite, 90s rockers Skunk Anansie are to release a greatest hits album entitled 'Smashes and Trashes'. The fifteen track compilation will come out on November 2nd, and will features three new songs, including 'Because of You', which is set to be released as a single on September 14th

There's also new albums on the way from the Sugababes, El Perro Del Mar, Mountain Goats, Avril Lavigne and The Raveonettes.