The nominees for induction into the Rock 'n' Roll Hall of Fame for 2017 have been announced, with several new acts making the shortlist.

Pearl Jam, Tupac Shakur and ELO are amongst the new names on the shortlist, joining previous nominees Chic, Chaka Khan, J. Geils Band and more.

Rock band Jane's Addiction also make the shortlist, alongside prog-rockers Yes, hardcore punks Bad Brains, as well as The MC5, The Zombies, Depeche Mode, Janet Jackson, Journey, The Cars, Joan Baez, Steppenwolf, Joe Tex and Kraftwerk. The eligibility criteria is that a band or artist must have released their first record 25 years ago.

The public, alongside the 800-strong academy of musicians, will vote for their favourites - and although there is no limit on how many acts are inducted each year, there's usually around 6 - 12 acts that make the grade. The 2017 inductees will be announced in December and the induction ceremony will take place in New York in April 2017.