The Mexican picked up the Best Director trophy for The Shape of Water at last night’s awards.

One of the prevalent themes of last night’s BAFTA awards was addressing sexual harassment in the film industry and celebrating the #MeToo movement.

A whole host of attendees wore a Time’s Up badge in solidarity, a symbol which has come to reflect equality and change in the industry, including Martin McDonagh, Chiwetel Ejiofor, Dermot O’Leary, Sam Claflin, Gary Oldman and many more.

When Guillermo del Toro went up to collect his award viewers noticed that he wasn’t wearing a badge. When he was asked about it later, here was his response:

‘I wore one to DGA… all I can say is jetlag and lateness. Throughout my work and throughout the years I have been vocal and supportive,’ he told

‘I try to generate not only key positions for female directors and first-time directors but also write powerful parts for female actresses in ways that are not the quote on quote usual way,’ he said.

Too jetlagged and late to wear a badge? Mmmm.

See the full list of BAFTA winners here.

Via: Metro