Cyclists Chris Froome and Lizzie Armistead, athletes Jessica Ennis-Hill, Mo Farah and Greg Rutherford, footballer Lucy Bronze, Formula 1 driver Lewis Hamilton, tennis player Andy Murray, swimmer Adam Peaty, rugby league player Kevin Sinfield, gymnast Matt Whitlock and recently crowned heavy weight boxing champion Tyson Fury make up the nominees for this year's award.

Andy Murray is the current favourite to take home the award, with Jessica Ennis-Hill in second palce. Fury's nomination has been met with some debate, due to controversial comments he has made, but he is currently in fourth place with the bookies.

The award ceremony will be broadcast live from the SSE Arena in Belfast, the first time it will take place in Northern Ireland.