It hasn't even been a full year since Villagers' last album 'Darling Arithmetic' was released, but Conor O'Brien and co. will follow it up with their fourth record in January.

While 'Darling Arithmetic' was a largely stripped-back affair that was self-recorded and produced by O'Brien, their new album 'Where Have You Been All My Life?' is described as "a collection of songs that distils five years and three albums of Villagers’ songwriting into one flowing narrative."

In other words, the tracklisting will see re-workings and 're-imaginings' of old songs from both that album and their past recordings, as well as a new track - 'Memoir' - which was written for Charlotte Gainsbourg in 2011 but never recorded by Villagers, and a cover of Glen Campbell's 'Wichita Lineman'.

The album was recorded in London's RAK Studios in one day and the tracklisting can be seen below:

1. Set the Tigers Free
2. Everything I Am is Yours
3. My Lighthouse
4. Courage
5. That Day
6. The Soul Serene
7. Memoir
8. Hot Scary Summer
9. The Waves
10. Darling Arithmetic
11. So Naive
12. Wichita Lineman

They'll also play Vicar Street on January 8th. Tickets are €28 including booking fee, and on sale from usual outlets this Friday at 10am.

[UPDATE: They'll play several other Irish dates in January, too - details below]

26 January: – Belfast - ‘Out to Lunch Festival' - The MAC Theatre
29 January: – Galway - Black Box
30 January: – Cork – Savoy