The shortlists for the Ivor Novello Awards for Songwriting have been revealed, and it's good news for Villagers main man Conor O'Brien, who is nominated for the second time.

O'Brien is nominated in the Best Album category for 'Darling Arithmetic', his third album, which was released last year, and is up against Jamie xx's 'In Colour' and Gaz Coombes' 'Matador'. He previously won 'Best Song Musically and Lyrically' gong in 2011 for the title track of his debut album, 'Becoming a Jackal.'


Belfast's David Holmes also clocks up a nomination for the second year running, for his score to TV series London Spy. Last year, he won the award for 'Best Film Soundtrack' for his work on '79.

Other Irish songwriters up for awards include Gary Lightbody and Johnny McDaid of Snow Patrol for their work on Ed Sheeran's 'Bloodstream', and Iain Archer, who co-wrote James Bay's 'Hold Back the River'.

Somewhat surprisingly, Adele is absent from all categories despite being eligible for '25', which was released in November.

See the full shortlists below:

Best song musically and lyrically
Ed Sheeran - 'Bloodstream'
Wolf Alice - 'Bros'
Jamie Lawson - 'Wasn't Expecting That'

Best contemporary song
Snakehips ft Tinashe & Chance The Rapper - 'All My Friends'
Roots Manuva - 'Cargo'
Skepta - 'Shutdown'

Most performed work
James Bay - 'Hold Back The River'
Jess Glynne - 'Hold My Hand'
Years & Years - 'King'

Best album
Villagers - 'Darling Arithmetic'
Jamie xx - 'In Colour'
Gaz Coombes - 'Matador'

Best film score
Ex Machina
The Duke of Burgundy

Best television soundtrack
And Then There Were None
From Darkness
London Spy


The awards take place on May 19th at Grosvenor House in London.