Six countries have been knocked out of this year's Eurovision Song Contest after the first semi-final which was held in Vienna last night.

As Irish people will be aware - although certainly not in recent years -  not every country automatically qualifies to compete. Apart from the United Kingdom, Spain, Italy, Germany and France - the so-called 'Big 5' -  plus guest country Australia, which is competing for the first time, and host country Austria -  the other acts must  make it through the semi-final process before being allowed to compete in Saturday's final, which is broadcast to millions all over the world.

The countries who were knocked out in last night's first semi-final are Denmark, Belarus, Macedona, The Netherlands, Finland and Moldova.

The ten countries that made it through were Albania, Armenia, Belgium, Estonia, Georgia, Greece, Hungary, Romania, Russia and Serbia.

The second semi-final, in which Ireland's Molly Sterling will be singing in, takes place tomorrow night and will be broadcast live on BBC3.

The final is being held in Vienna thanks to Austria winning last year's contest with Conchita Wurst's 'Rise Like a Phoenix'.