Irish artists Hozier and David Holmes have both won Ivor Novello Awards for their work in 2014.

The awards, held at London's Grosvenor House this afternoon, are seen as prestigious as they are voted for by their fellow songwriters, rather than by the public or record labels.

Hozier won 'Best Song Musically and Lyrically' for the ubiquitous 'Take Me to Church', while Holmes's work on the soundtrack for the film '71 won him the award for 'Best Original Film Score'.

Conor O'Brien of Villagers previously won the 'Best Song Musically and Lyrically' award for his song 'Becoming a Jackal' in 2011.


The full list of winners can be seen below.


Best Song Musically and Lyrically

'Above The Clouds Of Pompeii'
Written by Andrew Davie
Performed by Bear's Den

'I Forget Where We Were'
Written and Performed by Ben Howard

'Take Me To Church' - WINNER***
Written by Andrew Hozier-Byrne
Performed by Hozier

Best Contemporary Song

'Every Other Freckle'
Written by Thomas Green, Joe Newman and Gus Unger-Hamilton
Performed by Alt-J

'Rather Be' - WINNER***
Written by James Napier and Jack Patterson
Performed by Clean Bandit featuring Jess Glynne

'Two Weeks'
Written by Tahliah Debrett Barnett and Emile Haynie
Performed by FKA twigs

PRS for Music Most Performed Work

Written by George Ezra Barnett and Joel Pott
Performed by George Ezra

'Rather Be' - WINNER***
Written by James Napier and Jack Patterson
Performed by Clean Bandit featuring Jess Glynne

'Stay With Me'
Written by James Napier, William Phillips and Sam Smith
Performed by Sam Smith

Album Award

Present Tense
Written by Thomas Fleming, Ben Little, Christopher Talbot and Hayden Thorpe
Performed by Wild Beasts

Royal Blood
Written by Michael Kerr and Ben Thatcher
Performed by Royal Blood

So Long, See You Tomorrow - WINNER***
Written by Jack Steadman
Performed by Bombay Bicycle Club

Best Original Film Score

'71 - WINNER***
Composed by David Holmes

Mr Turner
Composed by Gary Yershon

The Boxtrolls
Composed by Dario Marianelli

Best Television Soundtrack

The Honourable Woman - WINNER***
Composed by Natalie Holt and Martin Phipps

The Mill - Series 2
Composed by Samuel Sim

The Suspicions of Mr Whicher - Beyond the Pale
Composed by Edmund Butt


Songwriter of the Year – Ed Sheeran

The Ivors Inspiration Award – James Dean Bradfield, Sean Moore and Nicky Wire (Manic Street Preachers)

Outstanding Song Collection – Albert Hammond

The Ivors Classical Music Award – Judith Weir

The Ivors Special Anniversary Award – Bob Geldof and Midge Ure

Lifetime Achievement – Geezer Butler, Tony Iommi, Ozzy Osbourne and Bill Ward (Black Sabbath)

PRS for Music Special International Award – Paul Williams

BASCA Fellowship – Annie Lennox