Established in 2006, The Dublin Film Critics Circle offers the city’s full-time professional movie reviewers an opportunity to pool opinions on recent releases, consider movie heritage and whinge about each other’s shortcomings.

Join these irrascible folk as they ponder JDIFF 2014 and name their final selections for Best Film, Best Director, Best Irish Film, Best Documentary and Best Performances from the festival programme.

This year, a jury that includes Daniel Anderson (Click), Brogen Hayes (Spin FM),  Paul Whittington (Sunday Business Post), Nicola Timmins (Average Film Reviews), Dave O’Mahony (Access Cinema), Rory Cashin (, Donald Clarke (The Irish Times) and DFCC president Tara Brady (The Irish Times) will, additionally, announce the recipient of the fifth Michael Dwyer Discovery Award, named for our late friend and colleague.

Presentable DFCC member Gavin Burke (Phantom FM) will be on hand to introduce the final deliberations of the 2014 jury at the Film-makers Lounge at The Church Café Bar.

This event is free and unticketed.